top of page

Education to Build a Better Future for All

We know that education is one of importants things in our life. Elizabeth warren once said that a good education is a foundation for a better future. But when we’re talking about education people often confuse, is it different from schooling?

We always think about places like schools, college, teachers, tutors and many more when hearing the word “education”. The problem is while helping people to learn, the way lot of schools and teachers operate is not necessarily something we can properly call education. Students sit on the chair, watching teachers who speaking and explaining the subjects without interuption, that’s what they called education.

Education, as we understand it here isn’t just about studying the subjects, for me it is all about learning the values. Students have to be active and do more things and teachesr is not only teaching the students but teachers must be a partner for the students.

In my opinion we doesn’t have to study all day long and learn many different subject, 5-6 hours per day and we learn what we want to learn and we enjoy doing it(what I mean is focus to 1 subject like in the university). But we still get the basic lesson in other subject(math, psysics, english, etc). And if your passion in art, do and hone your skill and dont let ther people affect you.

Actually I am very disappointed with the education system in Indonesia today, especially curriculum 2013 that I think is not accordance to students here. Not that I was not thankful that I still go to school now, I am very grateful but the curriculum put to much pressue on us. I barely have time for family and my friends(although there is social media now but its different when we meet each other face to face). Sleep time that is nomally 8 hours per day now I only sleep about 4-5 hours per day. I know this curriculum is intended to make us independent and become better but I think it’s not a good idea. The way we study like this make us just appreciate the value without appreciate the process.

So education is not juat about mathematics, physics, chemistry. To build a better future you don’t have to be smart at mathematics, physics, chemistry, etc . Just do what you love and match you passion. Knowledge is power but character is more


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page